BIGBURY were the opponents for Thurlestone GC in the second leg of the latest Latern Club clash. This fixture took place at Bigbury on Saturday 25 May and the hosts were able to overturn a two-point deficit.

Some excellent play from the home team resulted in a 5-1 defeat from Thurlestone, making for an overall score of 7.5-5.5 with Bigbury retaining the trophy as a result.

A larger than usual turnout of 14 pairs meant that many of the competitors in the Sicklemore Cup remained in the clubhouse waiting in anticipation for the last group to return from a very windy course when it was just starting to rain.

Played as a mixed pairs foursomes stableford competition, the Sicklemore Cup is also a qualifier for the Marine Cup which is played as a foursomes matchplay knockout contest. The top 8 pairs of the Sicklemore go through.

Ruth and Tom Downing were the winning duo, scoring 37 points and beating Kaz and Martin Phillips on countback.

Elsewhere, the seniors played their Spring Medal Competition on Tuesday 28 and the winner was John Tiner (24) with a nett 69. In second place was Stewart Barnes (8) with nett 71, and third was Brian Goodhew (12) with 72. There was only one birdie two, achieved by Harry Cattell on the third hole.

Thurlestone’s Annodota ladies’ team travelled to Stover for a match on the same day. It was really close with all five singles matches going to the 18th hole, the result being a nail-biting 2.5-2.5 draw. As a result, the final players had to go back out again to determine the victorious club.

Sadly for Thurlestone, it was Stover who prevailed on home soil and earned a spot in the next round. A first outing for junior member Martha Massingham definitely deserves a mention- hopefully this is the first of many appearances for her after she went toe-to-toe with a nine handicapper and drew her match.

Thurlestone ladies' Annodota team, who played Stover in the first round
Thurlestone ladies' Annodota team, who played Stover in the first round (Contributed)

Lastly, the ladies at the club played a 27-hole competition on Wednesday 29 May for the Joan Mackenzie trophy, in teams of three with two scores to count. They went out in the morning to play 18 holes, came in for lunch and then played another 9 holes.

The team of Jennifer Roberts, Victoria Gibbens and Julia Dorey won with 123 points, four ahead of Trish Gledhill, Jane Mason and Kaz Phillips on 119. Rounding out the podium on 108 points were Maggie Best, Liz Sharman and Liz Stewart.

Eight teams played and they all enjoyed themselves as the weather was kind, as was the scoring with five birdie twos being scored. Congratulations for these go out to Jane Mason, Barbara Smith, Liz Stewart and particularly Jennifer Roberts, who had two birdies.