Palairet players through to finals day after excellent win

Friday 3rd August 2018 7:44 am
The victorious Wrangaton team ()

Subscribe newsletter

Subscribe to our email and get updates right in your inbox.

Wrangaton Golf Club

The men’s palairet team have reached finals day after a 3-2 win against Honiton at Dainton Park.

Wrangaton got off to a fast start with the first three games up very early in the round. But Honiton came back and won game one. It all went to the last game with Keith Sexton and Richie Ogle halving the 17th and winning their game two up.

Well done to Dan New­man and Simon Merryfield on winning their game on their debut.

Wrangaton have never made it to finals day, congratulations to everyone involved.

The ladies’ captain’s day was sunny and warm, and the course was playing very well, Di Clasby, the ladies’ captain, came prepared with snacks, cakes, and drinks for half time and prizes for the competition.

Twenty ladies came to support the golf and were looking forward to the competition.

Sue Mathews came to support Di and enjoy supper with the section.

After a most enjoyable game of golf, followed by a meal, the prizes were awarded.

Stevie Foster and Jeanne Aspinall had twos on the 12th and 17th holes respectively.

The putting competition was won by Stevie Foster and, yes, so was the chipping competition.

Nearest the pin on the 12th was won by Kate Purcell and Stevie Foster won nearest the pin on the 17th. Nearest the pin in two on the ninth was won by Angie Newman.

The best back nine was won by Angela Muxworthy with 18 points and the best front nine was won by sallie Malt with 18 points.

In divison three the winner was Nessa Mabelle with 37 points, in second place on countback from Jeanne Aspinall was Jane Barter with 29 points.

In division two the winner was Jane Cooke with a magnificent 40 points in second place was Mary Shepherd OCB from Wendy Roberts with 34 points.

In division one in first was Marion Seward with 36 points and second was Ayumi Coulton OCB from Kim Flook with 33 points.

The Lady Captain’s Trophy was won by Jane Cooke, who thanked Di for a memorable day and marvellous prizes.


To leave a comment you need to create an account. |

All comments 0