Pair walk off with Laywell House Cup and Angie wins Beacon Cup

Thursday 14th June 2018 1:21 pm
The Laywell House Cup winning team ()

Subscribe newsletter

Subscribe to our email and get updates right in your inbox.

Wrangaton Golf Club

Last Wednesday was the first one of the month so it was cake to celebrate birthdays and presentation of the cups!

The weather was set fair the course looked great and everyone had a good day.

The Beacon Cup was won by Angie Newman with a personal best of net 64 on the final round and an overall score of a net 133.

This means that she won both the May and June medals and her handicap is now 22.3. In second place was Sue Ansley with a net 139.

The club championship was won by Stevie Foster with the best gross score over two weeks of 170. In second place was Angie Newman with a gross 184. The winner of the Star Cup designed for Ladies with a higher handicap was won by Jean Messham. The Easter Cup was presented to Nessa Mabille.

The ladies’ captain Di Clasby congratulated all the winners on their success and reminded people about the Go Pink day supported by the ladies annually in aid of breast cancer research. Jane Cooke won the Rose Bowl.

The men’s Dartmoor League team carried on their good form winning at home 4-1 against Dartmouth last Saturday.

The vets section played a three-ball better ball cup last Thursday. Two scores from three players, Roger Cockings, Peter Towers and Des Willmot carded the best score with 88 points and in second was the vets captain Colin Trevethick, Julian Mitchell and Ray Plowman.

Wrangaton also hosted the vets open last week, in which 28 teams took part.

First came Mike Daniels, Allan Smith and Tony Dardis with 83 points, second Mike Tremain, Bill Purser and M Lambert-Gorwin 83 points and third Peter Barraud, T Dart and M Hooper 80 points.

There was county success for two Wrangaton ladies, Sue Ansley and Di Clasby, in the Devon Ladies County Bronze event at Staddon Heights

Sue won her division with an impressive 45 points, with three holes with no score. Her new handicap is 25. Di finished third in the same division.

The men’s Laywell House Cup was played on Sunday, with 32 teams entering. The winners were Chris Furnival and Adrian Jordan with 44 points, ahead of P Zimmerman and W Bellamy in second with 43 points, beating O Nute and K Searle on count back.

There were 10 twos; Luke Vinecombe had a two on the 10th.

More About:



To leave a comment you need to create an account. |

All comments 0