On Thursday, Sep­tember 1, Wrangaton’s senior section played the John Holloway memorial trophy.

The course was in excellent conditions but the strong wind made scoring difficult.

Keith Bailey was the winner of division one and the overall winner of the trophy with a score of 37 points.

Neil Edwards had to settle for second place on countback, also finishing with 37 points; Neil scored an eagle on the first hole. Jeff Bailey scored 36 points and finished in third place.

Steve Webber finished top of division two on countback from Bob Andrews, both players scored 36 points. Neil Toogood claimed third after finishing with 34 points.

On Sunday, Septem­ber 4, the 2016 Dart­moor pony competition was held at Wrangaton golf club.

For this tournament Wrangaton, Okehamp­ton, Teign Valley, Yel­verton and Tavistock all field six pairs and the format is pairs greensomes stableford, with all the points of each club added together.

The Wrangaton players made the most of the home advantage and went on to win the competition with 203 points. Mary and John Shepherd scored a fantastic 43 points to boost Wrangaton’s score. Okehampton finished runner-up with 195 points. Teign Valley finished third with 192 points, closely followed by Yelverton who finished with 189 points.

Tavistock golf club finished with 175 points. The competition organiser thanked all the staff at Wrangaton for an excellent day.