THURLESTONE’S four new captains – Jim Stewart, Pam Adams, Gary Keen and George Inch – all took part in the traditional drive-in to welcome them to their new roles, writes Liz Line.

Prior to the drive-in,  a major club competition, the Eva Challenge Shield, was held. A shotgun start with players starting from all 18 tees at the sound of a klaxon, meant that everyone would arrive back in the clubhouse at approximately the same time.

Blustery weather saw Liz Sharman and Heather Spencer (31 points) win the ladies’ pairs, Alex and Sue Esplin (40) win the mixed pairs and Chris Oldershaw and Mike Day come out victors on count-back from Gary King and Chris Tarr with 42 for the men’s pairs and winners of the overall competition and winners of the Eva Challenge Shield.

Rob Eva, who donated the trophy, presented the award.

There was a single two by Club Chairman Graeme Fairley and his wife Shiela; Shiela having hit a superb tee shot!

Following some lunch and a few words by newly-elected Club Captain Jim Stewart and by Rex Brown from the Devon Air Ambulance Trust (captains’ joint charity), the 100 or so members gathered on the first tee to witness the drive-in. Pam Adams led the way with a terrific drive on to the fairway, with Gary Keen and George Inch hitting superb drives threatening the green and just missing to the left. Last to tee off was Jim Stewart who had to step away from the ball at address due to the intense silence of the gathered crowd. Another well-struck shot saw his ball land just short of the green.

All that was left to do now was to calculate who had guessed the nearest locations of where these shots had landed. A grid-lined chart of the first hole in the clubhouse gave members a chance to donate to the new captains’ joint charity, the Devon Air Ambulance Trust, by buying a square on the chart.

Special thanks to Stewart Barnes, Steve White and the Pro Shop team, Joan Booth, Chris Jones and team and Bett Rhymes for making both days pass so smoothly. 

Thurlestone golf
Jane Mason, winner of the knockout Murray Smith Cup (Contributed)

Jane Mason and Liz Sharman played the final of The Murray Smith Cup on Friday in very blustery conditions. The match went all the way to the 18th hole with Jane the eventual winner, 2up.

The Thurlestone juniors have been playing in the Winter League organised every weekend since September to March by Andy Robinson and Marc Chester. The final winner was Ollie Chester, second was Harry Robinson and third Jake Brooker. Well done to all the juniors for taking part in the Junior Winter League. Thanks also go to the organisers who have worked hard to put this league on.